The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

Carrie Q.

2 Comments

I love her.  A bunch.  To finish my short series on friendships, I want to honor one of the best I have.

I have known Carrie for almost four years now.  I was in community group with her during almost all of my CG adventures during Sojourn.  We have been in accountability together for a year and a half.  She has three girls, too, and her oldest, Noelle,  is the same age as my oldest, Liam.  Noelle has announced that if Liam buys her a butterfly ring, she will marry him (of course she said she would marry a different little boy we know if he bought her a diamond ring).  Carrie and I have also lived 1/2 mile from each other for 3 1/2 years now. 

I can laugh hard when I’m with her.  I mean really, really hard.  We can sing Amy Grant, Sandy Patty, and Backyardigan songs together.  We swap funny kid stories.  We love drama, not the real-life kind but the kind on a stage with spotlights.  The bigger the crowd, the more we can ham it up.  We are both lovers of choir and men who play guitar (O.K. each of us only loves one man who plays guitar, and it’s not the same man).

Those are bonuses of what I get by having Carrie in my life.  The real reason I love Carrie is she can sharpen me and point me to Christ better than almost anyone I know.  This woman is full of wisdom and grace.  She is sinful like everyone else but is quick to confess that sin and seek repentance.  She takes my legalistic tendancies and points me nowhere but the cross and the forgiveness I have already received, encouraging me to rest in His strength and wisdom, not my own.  I have called her to get her input on how to deal with touchy situations with others more than once because I know she is careful with her speech and her words are full of scripture.  This is the kind of friend every believer should pray for, and I am grateful to God for giving me so much goodness through Carrie.

2 thoughts on “Carrie Q.

  1. Amen. Carrie is a beautiful woman on the inside and out! What a beautiful way to honor your friendship with her

  2. EXACTLY

Leave a Reply

