The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

Relaunch

2 Comments

Well folks, we are doing a relaunch of our blog.  All of our old posts are still there, but over the past few months we have been reorganizing and writing.  We have several posts scheduled over the next couple of months, shooting for at least 3 posts a week.  We’ll start with some make-up posts of events that have happened since we were last blogging (birthdays, holidays, etc.) along with an update of what’s going on with us these days.  Then we’ll move on to some new posts, as well as finish up some series we had begun but never completed.

I have to be honest.  Justifying blogging is difficult for me for a few reasons.  One is the time it takes to keep it up.  I have my 5th child on the way, a husband to love on, neighbors to love on, church family to love on, and I homeschool.  I would rather spend my time doing things than writing about them, but each time I get away from blogging I miss it.  It is basically my only way to keep record of the goings-on in my life, both events and heart issues.  I journal sporadically, but I don’t scrapbook (or really organize my pictures at all), and I don’t write down my thoughts about specific issues.  Blogging is a great outlet for both of those things.

Another reason I have a difficult time is the weightiness of my words being on the Internet for all time for anyone to see.  There have been times that my heart has changed on a topic, that my sinfulness has come out, or that I am just off with what I’m saying.  It is sometimes hard to go back and read those words.  I understand, however, that those messes are just one more reflection of my need for Christ, and vulnerability can leave plenty of room for growth in my walk. 

The third reason is my feeling of inadequacy with wisdom.  I am very young, definitely not an older woman who is qualified to teach younger women.  Though we are all called to sharpen one another, often my posts go to marriage and parenting advice (and my oldest child is only 5), something I think God intends to mainly be done through women who are much farther ahead in life, not just a step or two.  I do not think, though, that younger women are never to give wisdom.  Many times of growth in my life have been through the teaching of women in the same (and sometimes earlier) season of life as me.  Teaching by younger women needs to be done with a spirit of humility, which is honestly something I struggle with.  Hence my inward battle about blogging.  So each time I write posts in this catagory I am going to try to make it clear that the comments are open for others to challenge and sharpen me.   Furthermore, both Bill and a sweet friend of mine are going to be reading and editing each of my posts before they go out.

That being said, since there are still many benefits of blogging as I listed above, I am actually ridiculously excited about giving this a go again.  As usual most of the posts will be written by me with a bit of Bill.  We invite you to read, enjoy, and come along side us.  Blessings.

2 thoughts on “Relaunch

  1. Yay! So excited to be reading about you guys again. I love you and your family and any wisdom you do have to offer. I appreciate your sensitivity to the topic of wisdom offering though you do have MUCH to offer us. Having your 5th child on the way means you do have at least SOME more wisdom than someone like me with my 3rd on the way. You still have much to offer. And as you know, there’s always more to learn. I appreciate your candid spirit and look forward to reading from you guys again. It helps me feel plugged into your lives more since we can’t physically hang out much. Thanks for taking the time to bless us! 🙂

  2. Courtney, seriously, you ARE qualified to give two things: 1) the wisdom you’ve gained from journeying to where you are, and 2) the GOSPEL!! I have been blessed by your wisdom even in our short conversations. You’re an “older woman” to me and lots of others — and I mean that in the best way possible! 🙂 I am subscribing right now and hoping you’ll keep up with the relaunch.

    Don’t be skurred of the vulnerability. I think just putting my words out there has helped me become wiser, and more humble when I’m called out wrong! 🙂

Leave a Reply

