The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

More Health Prayers

7 Comments

For the past month or so, I have been experiencing unexplained sadness mixed with very dark nightmares.  Everything has felt like it has been hard.  We have been doing all we can think of, beginning with lots and lots of prayer.  I have shared this with four close sisters and Bill has shared with a close brother.  All have been showering us with prayers, scripture, and encouragement.  I have also been consistently exercising 6 days/week and am getting plenty of sleep.  Still, though, God has chosen according to His perfect will not to take this away for now.

Today Bill shared with me that he has been wondering about a medicine  I have been taking.  We decided a few months ago that I should take a very powerful medicine for my Crohn’s.  I give myself injections every two weeks, and there are many dangerous potential side effects.  As we researched today, we found out that one such side effect is depression.  The medicine takes about 12 weeks to take effect, and as we compared times, we realized the sadness started around the same time the Humira should have started making a difference.

I share this with you for a few reasons.  One, pray for wisdom from my doctor and us as we decide on the best step to take.  Second, pray that the sadness goes away, even if not related to the medicine.  Third, pray.  Are you seeing a pattern here?  Seriously, though, I need prayer.  Ultimately, this hopelessness is a lie coming from the enemy, and I am going to fight him with all that’s in me because I have the Holy Spirit in me, dang it!  And He can kick some serious tail!  Some of you who read are the godliest family and friends I know, and I know when I ask you to pray, you will.  Thank you all for loving me through this time.

7 thoughts on “More Health Prayers

  1. I will be praying for you, Courtney. Although it had nothing to do with a medicine, I can totally relate to an intense period of darkness in my own life when we moved to NM. Besides scripture and prayer, I had amazing counsel (and lots of truth) from David (my own personal counselor) and Kacie (whose spiritual maturity regularly humbles me flat on my face). You are right, it’s root is a lie from the enemy. I found Mars Hill’s sermon series on Spritual Warfare to be eye-opening and sobering. It taught me to be very much on the offense, as I am sure you already know. Also, I have Piper’s “When the Darkness will Not Lift” if you would like to borrow it. I’m sure I’ve just mubled a whole bunch of stuff you already know, but is just so personal and real to me (even now) that I just wanted to share.

    Here is a post I wrote on my blog. I don’t know if it would serve any purpose to you at all, but I thought I’d share:

    http://mandybking.blogspot.com/2009/07/personal-liturgy-of-confession.html

  2. Courtney, thank you for sharing this with us so that we can pray for you and the many decisions that you need to make. I will definitely be beseeching God to give you all wisdom during this. I pray that you will continue to cling to him and his promises. He will shepherd you through this valley! I love you sister!

    Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:25-26

    Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?… No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be ale to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:35, 37-39

  3. Courtney, I am sorry to hear this. I will be praying for you and you find answers.

    Dave’s brother has crohns and treatment can be soooo hard at times. I am sorry you have it too.

    The other two already gave some great advice and scripture! Love you girl.

  4. Praying for you right now!

  5. Hey Courtney!

    I have battled depression in my life, too. It does sound like your medicine might have a lot to do with this. I know that antidepressant medicine has been very helpful to me. Maybe this could be a possibility during the time you’re on your Chrons treatment. Also, I read a wonderful book during my depression called Loving God with All Your Mind, by Elizabeth George and God really used it and scripture to minister to my heart in so many ways.

    I am praying for you and I would love to talk anytime you would like to. 257-2300.

    Love you, friend!
    Monica

  6. Courtney,

    I haven’t taken the time to check e-mails in a while. I was so sorry to read this blog entry.

    I am normally pretty upbeat. But I have gone through at least one prolonged period of depression related to a group of circumstances over which I had no control. I bathed the situation in Bible study and earnest prayer, but it seemed as if every time I would take 2 steps forward, I would take 3 steps backward.

    But God was there through it all. When I would get to what seemed the very bottom, He would graciously prompt a dear friend to call me. She didn’t know what was going on because I was much too good at hiding how I felt, but she would always ask, “Are you OK today?” And just knowing she was helping bear the load would make me OK for that day. To paraphrase someone much wiser than I, “When you get to the bottom, there you find the Rock on Whom you can stand”.

    I am praying that God will choose to lift the sadness and stop the disturbing dreams. And that until He does, you will trust Him and know that He is with you every second of every day and night.

    Although He was infinitely rich, for His own glory, He chose to become poor on our behalf. He chose to experience everything we experience, including times of intense sadness, so that no one could accuse Him of not knowing how we feel.

    Please know that while your many believing friends and family are praying for you, Christ is also interceding for you. Satan has no power over Him. NO POWER!!! You will get through this, and once you’re on the other side, you will be able to use your most difficult experiences to encourage others.

    Love you!!!

  7. I haven’t been looking at blogs much recently so I totally missed this. Many, many prayers my friend. I went through a bout of depression in college so I know the hurt/hardship it brings. I will be lifting you up in prayer. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help you practically.

Leave a Reply

