The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

Four, For Real?

8 Comments

Is it really, really true?  The little man in my life who I am totally in love with turns four today!?  No way!

My sweet Liam, can a mother’s heart burst any more with love for someone so small, yet so big at the same time?  God has brought me more joy the last four years through your life than I thought possible.  Obviously I could be wrong on this, but I have never met another preschooler who is funnier, more compassionate, or more loving than you.  No comedian could ever make me laugh as hard or as often as you do (not even Tim Hawkins).  Where do you come up with the things you say?  Your constant chatter from the moment you wake up to the moment you go to sleep is filled with thoughts only a preschooler can follow.  Daddy and I have said, “I wish I could know what was going on in his little mind,” more times than we could count.  Just two days ago you made me laugh so hard when you told me what Miriam “says” by putting your mouth on my arm and rooting like crazy.  Then I laughed equally as hard when I asked you what you wanted for your birthday dinner, and instead of the expected random menu, you told me you wanted “peas, mashed potatoes, chicken, salad, and carrots with ranch.”  Well, my man, we are having that well balanced dinner while we celebrate you tonight (along with pirate cake of course).  🙂

As our friend Lindsey and I have said, you are going to make one heckofa husband one day.  One boy with three (yep, three) little sisters.  You and Daddy are seriously outnumbered, but you don’t mind one bit.  Yes, sometimes you forget your sisters aren’t brothers when you try to wrestle Ariana or treat Esther like she’s a ball to play with, but most of the time you are oh-so-gentle, giving them plenty of kisses, playing sweetly with them, sometimes even giving them the toy you really want to play with.  They are so blessed to have a big brother like you.  What a great God to provide such a strong protector for them in addition to Daddy (that is what both your names mean, after all).

Watching you interact with others also bring me much joy.  You can give your full life synopsis to total strangers without blinking an eye, and your hugs and kisses are always ready for everyone.  We have had many men who are not yet fathers in our house, and I love the way they are shocked when you run to them before bedtime and smack a big kiss on them.  Then I love watching that shock turn into a sweet look of affection for you.  It’s amazing the ways God uses children to soften almost any heart.  It’s beautiful to watch you become sad to watch friends, big and little, leave our home.  I pray God continues growing that hospitality in your heart to love on others above yourself, showing the love of Christ to the world.

Praise God for our little Liam, and praise God for how much He has grown me in the gospel through you.  You constantly humble me as I sin all the time  in front of you, yet you constantly remind me of the cross because of your quickness to forgive me.  It’s the same kind of forgiveness we have in Christ–undeserved yet boundless.  What a privilege it is to be a mother, and what a privilege it is to have a son and a preschooler.  I love you dearly!

024

8 thoughts on “Four, For Real?

  1. Hey Mr. Liam! Just this week you came running into my house yelling, “Miss Carrie! Miss Carrie! Jason and Stacy came over for dinner!” You could hardly stand it and you had to tell someone! And that’s what I think of when I think of you, a big ball of excitement just waiting to explode on the first person you see. You are so full of fun and pure “boyness!” Your mom and I have fun talking about all the energy and life you have. But there is also a sweet serious side to you that I love. You always give me hugs and you are always good for a quick snuggle too. You are a good friend to Noelle and I can’t wait to see how the two of you grow in your friendship. Blessings on this coming year now that you are a huge four year old! The Quillos love you little man!

  2. Hey, Liam,
    Happy Birthday! 🙂 I am glad to know you as a fellow “first-born” myself–God really uses us to lead our siblings 🙂 I hope you find the joy I have with loving and leading your siblings 🙂 Love ya, Marybeth (Addi’s mom)

  3. Liam,
    How blessed we have been to have known you the past very quickly flying 4 years. I still remember how I cried at the wonder of holding my very first grandchild for the first time. You were so small, and yet so perfectly formed.

    From your very first smile, you’ve always been a “people person”. It delights me to see you grow physically, mentally, and emotionally, and to see your sweet little heart. I’m also amazed at all your energy. Do you ever walk? It seems as if you are always in overdrive.

    Enjoy this special day. Chicken with all the “fixings” and a pirate cake, too, huh? Rrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    Love you so much,
    Nana & Peepaw

  4. Happy Birthday, Liam! Can’t wait to see you later this month. I’m ready for my next bible story, as narrated by Liam!

  5. Happy Birthday Liam! We can’t wait to see you in a couple months!!

  6. I love all the sweet and wonderful words your mommy said about you, Liam! I think you are much more of a blessing than you’ll ever know or understand!

  7. Liam,
    Oh man, I can’t believe how fast you kids grow! I’m a new mommy and shocked every day at it. I remember babysitting you one time.. and I read you a story and you went to bed. Then about half an hour later, I heard you in your room talking. I walked in, and you were sitting up on your bed (in the dark) with the book I had read you, and when I asked you what you were doing, you replied simply, “reading”. It was so sweet. I read you a couple more stories and you went back to sleep, but I see such sweetness in you all the time. The way you treat your sisters, the way you treat my son (who is only a little younger than Esther, and your personality in general. (Oh, and the things you said in your prayer before dinner at my house). Gosh, your sisters are so blessed to have you, and your parents are too, to have such a smart, active, seriously hilarious, sweet, loving boy.
    I have heard so many stories from your mommy about the things you do, and am just amazed at you.
    I love you sweetheart, and I hope you have a great 5th year!!!!!

    Love,
    Britany

  8. Happy 4th Birthday, Liam!

    You are so fun to listen to, talk to, and watch because of your incredible energy. Thank you for being a kind and strong little man of the community group this last year! Mr. Ed says, “Happy Birthday” too.

Leave a Reply

