The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

Pregnancy Update

5 Comments

Some of you keep nagging, ahem, encouraging me to give a pregnancy update, so here is the little I have to tell.

Original due date was April 15th, but according to ultrasound and Baby’s size, they have pushed it back to April 27th.  My original prediction was that I would pop this little one out the first weekend in April (next weekend) since all three of my others were between 9 and 12 days early, but I am trying to wrap my head around the fact that it might be later than I had thought.  Depending on which due date you go with (we obviously prefer tax day), I am either 37 or 35 weeks along.

Everything is going well so far.  The best news I have gotten was that I don’t have gestational diabetes this time (I did with Esther).  In fact, this was my best sugar test yet.  Praise God!  I have been staying fairly healthy this time, walking at least five days a week, doing yoga, even some safe-for-pregnancy push-ups.  🙂  I also go to the chiropractor each week to try to stay aligned for delivery.  This has by far been my highest energy pregnancy, and it is making a huge difference at this point.  I have been able to stay more active with the kids and have been able to serve Bill better.  Yesterday was the first day I decided it was time to stop going down slides with Ariana, telling her I didn’t want to make Baby come early when I think he/she needs to cook a little longer.

I will be delivering at Floyd this time, and one of my friends and fellow Sojourners, Heather Lewis is delivering.  Woohoo!  I will also be having quite a full house in the delivery room.  Obviously Bill, my rockin’ doula Lorie, Heather, and the nurses will be there, but I have also invited my beautiful and wise mother and my dear friend Lindsey (who I think will be live blogging) to be part of the occasion.  We’ve never invited anyone else, and I am so excited to share this with them.

I will be attempting to have another natural birth.  The fact that I’ve done it before sets me at ease because I know what to expect, but it also increases my dread because I know what to expect.  🙂  I can honestly say, though, that this is the first time I have not felt anxious about either the delivery or the new baby.  I trust in God’s hand over this.

As always, I desire your prayers during this time.  We will keep you all posted.  As I said above, I think Lindsey is going to be live blogging (don’t expect any pictures of baby actually coming out), so that might be fun for some of you, too.

5 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update

  1. AND you look super cute pregnant (which is a pretty good thing…)! OK, girl, I just wanted to say, YOU CAN DO IT! God made your body to deliver babies all on its own. YAY! 🙂

    I just watched The Business of Being Born… which might have something to do with my enthusiasm. You’re awesome!

  2. I totally get the feeling at ease because you know what to expect during delivery and feeling nervous – because you know what to expect! It’s somewhat of a mixed blessing! I am so excited for you – for how this pregnancy has gone, for your peace in what is ahead… and for the live blogging – if it’s in the middle of the night I can be right here for it! 🙂 I am humbled and taught so much from you Courtney – thank you. I am challenged to push on in my faith as I see you in yours and I long to be the woman you are. Thank you for sharing and teaching. 🙂

  3. I mentioned to someone the other day that you were due on “Tax Day”, and your Dad said, “You told me it was the 20th”. Actually, he had forgotten that you were the one who had told him the changed date, and he forgot to share that information with me. So what if he was also off by a week? I’m not sure if he knew that you will deliver at a different hospital this time, too; either way, I found out both facts from a blog. Oh, well, I’m just the Nana. 😉
    I’m so glad this pregnancy is going so well. We can’t wait to see your newest little one.

    Love,
    Nana

  4. YAY! Can’t wait! And I totally feel you on the “you know what to expect” deal LOL!

    David is friends with Heather’s husband and we had Kaedmon and Aidan (or is it Aiden?) on the same day. Too funny!

  5. So I’m a little heart broken that you are going to let all those people in the room with you to see the precious baby come out of your vag but wouldn’t let me see your stomach when the baby was kicking the other day. I’ll get over it- no big deal, I’m just the aunt of the little bug.

    Love!
    -Aunt Rachel

Leave a Reply

