The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us


7 Comments

My Christmas Present

Our friend Rachel blessed us yesterday with a night out while she watched the kids.  As many of you know, we are in need of a van so we have room for three car seats.  Bill has been trying to figure out if it would be best to trade in our Chevy Lumina or to sell it for parts (it’s barely drivable).  He found a place we could sell it that he thought would be the best value, so he asked Rachel to come over a little earlier to give us time to take the car to the buyer.  I was following behind him talking to him on the cell phone (we were on a date, remember) when he pulled into the business.  I was already driving in the parking lot before I looked to see where we were.  The sign said Enterprise Car Sales.  I experienced a moment of absolute bewilderment because I knew we were planning on purchasing our van from Enterprise, and I knew we weren’t going to start looking for a couple more months.  I got out of the car to see my husband with a huge grin on his face.  He had already been working with our friend Drew (Enterprise car salesman) for a couple of weeks, and everyone and their mom (including two women who were at our house right before we left) was in on the fact that Bill was surprising me with a new-to-us van that night.  He already had it picked out.  All we had to do was test drive it and sign papers.  We left Enterprise last night with a black 2007 Dodge Grand Caravan, and I love it! 

For those of you who don’t know, C.J. Mahaney has nothing on my romantic husband.  Bill is always looking for new ways to romance me, and this was just one more thing he went out of his way to do to touch my heart (in case it doesn’t seem romantic to some of you to buy your spouse a mini van, a mini van is basically my dream car–laugh if you want).  Well, Baby, you touched it and have it as always.  I love you! 

Man, it’s going to be tough to match that Christmas present.

Cheap plug:  We are convinced of Enterprise Car Sales (especially because there’s no haggling–we always struggle with our conscience on that one).  We don’t think we will ever purchase a vehicle from anyone else.  If you are as convinced as we are after investigating, you need to purchase from our friend, Drew.  Contact us if you want his info.  🙂