The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

ICAN

9 Comments

As many of you know, I had to have an emergency c-section with Ariana.  Though both baby and I were healthy and the delivery was much easier (no pushing and out in 20 minutes), the recovery was not to be desired.  I was on bed rest for two weeks and couldn’t pick up anything heavier than my newborn, which means I couldn’t pick up Liam. 

In Louisville, it is pretty standard that if you have had one c-section, doctors will refuse to allow you to deliver vaginally again.  Because Bill and I were not keen on this idea, we began to do research.  Every piece of research we found, including the AMA and ACOG, shows that VBACs (vaginal births after c-section) are safer than repeat c-sections.  We never found any evidence to support anything different; however, in our sue-happy society fewer and fewer doctors agree to perform VBACs because of law suits. 

We found an organization whose purpose is to increase c-section awareness and push for more VBACs (no pun intended).  It is called ICAN of Louisville.  I went to a meeting a couple of weeks ago and learned a lot.  I would encourage you to check out their site sometime, especially if you are dealing with this problem or know someone who is.  It is full of several helpful resources and articles.

One thing I found out is that I will basically have to go to Southern Indian and deliver at Clark Memorial Hospital if I want a VBAC.  Many doctors there and the hospital are supporters of VBACs and natural deliveries.  Though I am not excited about the idea of changing doctors and hospitals, the more I’m finding out about Clark, the more calm I’m becoming. 

I ask you to pray for a few things for us. One, that I will have the strength I need to tell my current doctor I am changing.  I see him today, and he has been a huge blessing to our family.  We have no desire to leave him, but he isn’t willing to perform a VBAC.  Two, please begin praying for this delivery even now.  I have had bad experiences with both deliveries, and it was only by God’s grace that I got to deliver Liam vaginally.  Please pray that a c-section will not be necessary.  Three, would you begin praying for this child’s (and Liam and Ariana’s) souls, that God would call them to Himself and that they will learn to desire Him above all things and glorify Him always?  It’s never too early.  

9 thoughts on “ICAN

  1. praying for this, Courtney. Just curious: you guys don’t find out the sex, do you? Just wanting to see if I had this to look forward to soon? I love to know what my friends are having=)

  2. Sending one up now Courtney. 🙂

    Also, if I may say, Clark Memorial seems like a fantastic hospital. I’ve had 3 friends deliver there and they had wonderful experiences. Plus, the facility is absolutely beautiful!

  3. Mandy,
    Thank you for praying. No, we don’t find out the sex of our babies, but I’m guessing this time that it’s a girl. I’ve never guessed before and actually have no idea, but I thought it would be fun anyway.

    Steph,
    Thank you for praying, too. I have heard the same kind of things about Clark. What I especially like is that I’ve heard they don’t make you lie down the whole time. I’ve even heard they will let you labor in the bathtub if you want. I’m definitely looking forward to having a different kind of labor experience if the Lord wills. Funny enough, Clark is actually the closest hospital to where we live now even though it’s in a different state.

  4. Praying for you Courtney.

    A friend of mine delivered at Clark- with a midwife. I’m so jealous. She was allowed to labor in the tub, but I don’t think she did. Her first baby was born in the tub (in a different state of course- Indiana and Louisville would never do that!).

    Keep us posted!

  5. Courtney, I am sure you will do great! I will be praying that God will give the Doctors the knowledge you need! I know a great coach, I bet you already know who I am talking about.

    How many weeks are you now?

    Becky

  6. I am gonna try and find a midwife and doula for my next delivery. Mandy+epidural= low blood pressure and experience I may not wanna repeat!

  7. Thanks for blogging about ICAN of Louisville. I’m so glad that you found us and came to August’s meeting. Blessings to you through this pregnancy!

    It’s hard to leave a doctor that you trust and like — but respectfully disagree with. You’re blessed to have your husband’s support with deciding to VBAC, and together I’m sure you will find and love a new doctor or midwife.

    I hope to see you at the next meeting in October. 🙂

  8. Becky and Mandy,
    I was advised at the ICAN meeting to get a doula, and yes, Becky, I did call that great coach you were talking about. However, because I’ve had a c-section before, that coach wisely advised me to seek a professional who has experience with that. I told her she should start training for it. She still has 6-7 months. 😉

    Erin,
    I was so thankful for the meeting I attended this month. I had never heard of you all, and it was a great encouragement to find out so much useful info and to know I have support here. You all are doing amazing things, and I will definitely be there in October.

  9. Courtney, it takes a lot of courage and strength to tell a professional in any field that you have been dealing with that you have to move on. I know you are strong and it sounds like you have been doing your homework. Don’t C sections cost more money? If that is so, then I don’t think the doctors are as worried about the lawsuits as much as for their own pockets.

    We pray that everything will work out for you and the family.

Leave a Reply

