The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

Love Them to Life

3 Comments

The other day when I was praying for God’s grace in raising our children, I was deeply convicted about how often I fail them.  I was struck by how many times I have neglected them to do other less important things, or have been quick to anger, or wished I could leave it all for a while, or been unwilling to show patience with them.  Going farther, I also saw how often I have failed to submit to Bill in front of them, showed laziness when there was work to be done, been critical of others in front of them, or neglected pointing them toward Christ when I have opportunities.  What a horrid abomination!

I was overwhelmed with my sinfulness toward the beautiful miracles God has so graciously blessed us with.  I was suddenly hit with the phrase, “Love them to death.”  I’m sure this phrase was probably originated as a result of wedding vows or something like that and probably really means love them till death, but I thought about it in a different context that morning.  Many times when I wrong my children I think, “At least I love them.  So many parents don’t love their children.”

Many times if I neglect them I justify it by believing I’m teaching them to play alone (which is important BTW, just not when looking for a reason to put your own desires first), or I’ll nobly remind myself that there is a such thing as righteous anger, and since they sinned, it was O.K. to lose my temper.  Right?  Or I’ll think, “If I get a break, I’ll be a better Mommy to them.”  What about skipping the discipline this time because I can’t stand to see my child upset?  Each time I make lame excuses like this for my behavior, I am loving my children to death.  In other words, I am leading them to eternal death instead of eternal life.

The phrase “Love them to life” got written at the top of my to-do list that day to be meditated on, and it has served as a great reminder to me since.  In everything I do with my children now I try to tell myself this:  “Love them to life.  Point them to their sinfulness and need for a Savior, yes, but then point them to the grace shown by the ultimate sacrificial lamb, Jesus Christ.  Constantly reflect Christ for them so they learn to adore Him through the adoration they feel for me.  Then prayerfully, by God’s grace, someday they may want to be like the Christ they saw reflected, call upon His name, and enter joyfully into His kingdom.”  Lord Jesus, may this be so!   

3 thoughts on “Love Them to Life

  1. Thank you so much Courtney for this awesome reminder!! I especially liked this: “Point them to their sinfulness and need for a Savior, yes, but then point them to the grace shown by the ultimate sacrificial lamb, Jesus Christ. Constantly reflect Christ for them so they learn to adore Him through the adoration they feel for me.”

    I fail way too often in this, but God in His grace always brings me back to Himself.

    Thank you!

  2. Courtney I really needed this this week. I am tired from the preg. and I have been usuing that as an excuse! That is so wrong of me, no matter the circumstances, I need to be meeting the needs of my children each and every moment. ( I am not saying I shouldn’t be resting so this new baby can grow, I have just not been doing it in the way I should be).

    Thank you for this wonderful reminder to “love them to life”, I will be making that a priority in my prayer life in the weeks to come.

    THank you again.

    oh yeah, I ditto what Kacie said as well.

    Becky

  3. FYI… Mark is sick & won’t be coming to Louisville on Sunday, just so you know. Maybe later this summer!

Leave a Reply

