The Bell Family

Random ponderings on God, life, and the humor all around us

Schedules–Part 1

4 Comments

Lately, I have been overwhelmed about how unorganized things seem to be.  With 2 children under 2, it seems like nothing is ever where it should be or in a convenient spot.  From clothes to pictures to recipes, everything can quickly become overwhelming, so I’ve decided to begin a series on organization.  I will be taking you slowly through what I am working on at the time, and we’re starting with my schedule.  I used to be one of those who thought I would just wing it.  I didn’t want to be rigid and boring.  Then Liam entered the world.  Things changed, and it didn’t take me long to see that not only did I need more structure, but so did my children.  Now that Liam is almost 2, I see more and more of a need to keep him on a schedule, so I have been doing research over the past year or so to come up with a schedule that works best for the whole family.  Once I came up with a schedule, I posted it on the refrigerator for a short time only to realize it wasn’t working anymore.  So I revised it, and the same thing happened.  It’s not so much that I was planning poorly, but our family’s needs were changing–additional children, children getting older, job changes, etc.  The best thing I have learned thus far is to stay flexible and to evaluate often.  Later this week I will tell you how I went about planning this schedule and will eventually post it here (if it hasn’t changed again).  I will tell you now that few of the ideas are original.  I’m an expert at taking other’s ideas, but I’m not ashamed.  I have learned from the wisdom of those who have gone before me and have done it well.  So now I will be passing some of that wisdom on to you.  Please feel free to give suggestions and tips about how I could be more efficient.  Then I may pass on your wisdom, too.

4 thoughts on “Schedules–Part 1

  1. Kudos, Honey! I’m not sure I’ve said it much before, but you do an absolutely outstanding job with this. It is true, though, that our life can’t seem to stay stable enough for a schedule to last very long. Most of the time, I’m just trying to keep up with everything that’s going on around us (which usually means stopping Liam from destroying something 😀 ). Anyway, I have to admit that I’m quite interested to read your post on scheduling. Most people who know me know how scheduling is not one of my strengths…

  2. Oh Good. I’ve been resisting a set schedule, but I think we’ll need one come fall when we step up the school work.

  3. Hi Courtney. Make sure you make MM (minimal maintenance a part of your day.) You know…when you set a timer in the morning and work for 10 minutes here and there on the things that have to be done, like unloading the dishwasher, folding clothes, cleaning up all the dirty diapers rolled up on the floor (or is that just me?)

    That has helped me. I also have a schedule of the boys and mine. I keep them separate and constantly refer to each of them separately. I have also remembered not to spazz if I get off schedule. It doesn’t have to rigid. It is just a guideline to go by. If I realize I am off (way off), then I just look at where we should be and get back LOL=)

    I hope any of this helps!

  4. Courtney I am just like you! I do have a schedule now, but it is very lax and it works great with my kids and my family. That is the most important part. With our schedule I don’t have the exact same thing everyday, I do grocery shopping on Mondays, Kids laundry on Tues or Wed. etc. This gives me a little flexability. Also, it helps my kids know that we always run our errands after breakfast before everyone gets cranky.

    I am excited to see what yours looks like!

Leave a Reply

